South Devon League Digital & Print Battle

Season 2017 to 2018

The South Devon League Battles are between Dawlish & Teignmouth, Newton Abbot, Crediton and ourselves. We have two battles a season, the Print Battle in either November or December and the Digital Battle sometime in the spring. Each club enters 15 prints and 15 digital images for each of the competitions. We are not allowed more than 2 images from the same photographer.

We hosted the Print Battle which took place on the 22 November 2017 and the results were:   It was a good evening with some fantastic images, the standard is going up all the time. Exmouth needs to make a real effort for their digital entry to gain those few extra points to get the cup as the scores were very close. Each image is scored out of 20 with a maximum mark of 17 so that the final three can get 18, 19 and 20. Exmouth fortunately got 3rd place with Ian's Stop Motion. Crediton 177, Dawlish 186, Exmouth 208 , Newton Abbot 213. The judge was Peter Fry

Newton Abbot hosted the Digital Battle on the 27 March 2018 and again some fantastic images and we did manage to get some top scores but unfortunately did not gain those extra points needed to win the competition. The results were: Crediton 176, Dawlish 196, Exmouth 206, Newton Abbot 223. The judge was Brian Galbraith.

With all the points combined from both competitions Newton Abbot gained 431 points making them this seasons winners for the much coveted Rose Bowl. Exmouth were second with 414, Dawlish and Teignmouth were 3rd with 382 points and Crediton gained 353 points.

Exmouth's 15 Print Entries

Stop Motion by Ian Bateman - 18 - 3rd place

Feeling Apprehensive by Peter Hyett - 17

Candid Obscura by Chaz Madge - 17

Highway to Hell by Ian Bateman - 16

Inversion over Froggett by Mo Martin - 15

Calm before the storm by Derrick Holliday - 15

A Day Out by Sheila Haycox - 13

Ragged Victorian Children - 13

Hush by Peter Hyett - 15

Herringfleet Windmill by Jenny Baker - 14

Shadow on the Wall by Carol Hyett - 12

Oblivious by Sheila Haycox - 11

Cafe by Derrick Holliday - 12

Upsurge by Chaz Madge - 11

Gauge by John Perriam - 9

Digitally Projected Images

Dancer by Peter Hyett - 9 points

Dark Angel by Ian Bateman - 11 points

Dandelion Clock by Mike Gillan - 13 points

Early Morning at St Pancras by Mike Gillan - 17 points

Ice at Dusk by Derrick Holliday - 13 points

Overtaking by Sheila Haycox - 12 points

Haywain by John Perriam - 13 points

New Street Reflectgions by Christine Chittock - 16 points

Lilies by John Wickett - 17 points

Powerchord by Ian Bateman - 16 points

Refuge Hut by Derrick Holliday - 11 points

Snow Patrol by Peter Hyett - 15 points

Space Invaders by John Perriam - 13 points

Three Engines by Christine Chittock - 17 points

Hands by Sheila Haycox - 13 points