Horseshoe Trophy 2016

The Horseshoe Trophy is an interclub battle between, Chard, Lyme Regis, Sidmouth, Honiton and Exmouth Photo Group. Each club enter 10 images, 5 Prints and 5 Digital Images. The prints required each year must fit the following categories: Mono, Closeup, Landscape, Nature and Portrait. Each year different categories are chosen for the digital images, this year they are  Modern Architecture; Fire & Flame; Street Photography; Smoke; Creative

The judge was Brian Galbraith who did an excellent job of discussing the images and awarding the appropriate points. I am delighted to say that it was two of our members who got the awards for the best Print and Digital images for the event. Ian Bateman was awarded best print for his No Cycling and Derrick Holliday was awarded best Digital Image for his Taxi image.

I am also pleased to report that Exmouth came 1st overall with 46 points and was awarded the Horseshoe Trophy. Sidmouth came second with 31 points, Lyme Regis 3rd with 29 points and Honiton and Chard were joint 4th.with 22 points.

Images of the event, preparations and presentations below. Unfortunately Ian wasn't at the event so an image of him getting his certificate isn't available.

The Judge, Brian Galbraith

Trevor, John and Jenny

Jenny, Mo and Christine preparing the food

The buffet ready for the break

The Audience studying the prints

Comments on the prints from the judge

Decision Time

Brian Galbraith presenting the Horseshoe Trophy to Trevor Keenan

The Judge deciding on the overall winner

Derrick Holliday receiving his certificate

The Audience

The Audience




Nature - 1st
Lemur Leaf Frog by Sheila Haycox


Mono 1st and Overall Print Winner
No Cycling by Ian Bateman


Landscape - 3rd
Dawlish Warren in the Haze by Peter Hyett

Close Up - 2nd
Red Eyed Tree Frog by Sheila Haycox

Portrait - 1st
Revolutionary by John Wickett

Digital Images

Creative - 2nd
Black Widow by John Perriam

Modern Architecture - 1st
Lloyds of London by John Wickett

Fire & Flame - 1st
Inferno by John Perriam

Street Photography - 1st
Taxi by Derrick Holliday
Overall Digital Winner

Smoking - 1st
Smoker by Christine Chittock